Skip to content

Happy Birthday!

June 17, 2009

Today, June 17, 2009, two things occurred. The “Smartest Man in the Room”, Newt Gingrich, turned sixty six years old. I guess that would be the first thing, since the second happened on my way home from work. I discovered the “Smartest Man in the Room” isn’t the “Smartest Man in the Room” anymore.

See, right before Newt misquoted the Declaration of Independence, he stated in no-uncertain terms, that President Obama has already failed.

My trip home usually takes about ten minutes, but over the past week or so it’s been a little longer each day. It’s because I pass three different road crews, with their annoying American Recovery and Reinvestment Act signs, hard at work. I’m guessing I’ve seen maybe a hundred folks who are getting a paycheck that were unemployed not too long ago.

I don’t know the exact correlation, but I also pass a few mom and pop diners, and I’ve noticed their parking lots are full again. A few months back they were empty. One parking lot that was practically empty was the lot at the unemployment office. I don’t have any hard numbers, but it sure looks to me, at least, that things are beginning to look up. Which means the naysayers, like Newt the Genius, are gonna have to start looking for something new to blame President Obama for.

Republicans, don’t let me down!

Note: I wrote this before I saw Kantor and Boehner release their four-page health-care reform plan…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties permalink
    June 18, 2009 12:11 am

    I am not quite sure where your comment was coming from that you left on our blog. Are you being mean or nice?

  2. June 18, 2009 12:19 am

    I always try to be nice whenever I completely disagree with someone.
    I make it a point to TRY and be respectful.
    Look, I certainly get the whole war with weight; and I’m on your side there. But if you’re going to re-write history, and falsely claim that America’s economy was fine before Obama became President, I have to call you out on it.

  3. June 18, 2009 12:30 am

    no worries, p of v. the rethugs won’t let ya down. they have their little book of madlibs, and they’ll just fill in the blanks with the issue du jour and express their disappointment in the democratic plan for it.

  4. weightlosswiththefabulousfatties permalink
    June 18, 2009 12:33 am

    LOL Okay then I am gonna go have a twinkie now 😉

    • June 19, 2009 12:20 am

      Twinkies are nasty. Yuck.
      If you’re going to do it, go all the way.
      Baked cheesecake and a fudge sundae,

  5. June 19, 2009 12:18 am

    I think we will see a rising 3rd party before we ever see a full recovery of the republicans.
    They’ll never recover if they continue to play dittohead.
    Moderates and independents decide elections now.
    Those on the extremes of left and right do not vary their numbers that much.

    • June 20, 2009 3:05 pm

      I wish there was such a thing as the Moderate Party. That’s where I’d be.

  6. June 20, 2009 12:35 pm

    There’s the chance that if bush the lesser hadn’t put the recession that began in December of 2007 on ignore, in hopes he could get outta Dodge before it was discovered, and if he had actually attempted to address the problems, they wouldn’t have gotten to be so bad, our economy wouldn’t have been a near depression before he woke up.

    As it is, President Obama will have our country on the road to recovery in a quicker time than it took the fool bush to admit there was a problem.

    And all the while the Republicans will ignore reality, criticize the solutions, and reduce their numbers further.

    It’s obvious to all Americans capable of thinking — the Democratic Party has ideas, plans and solutions; the Republican Party has NO!

    Something will beat nothing — every time!

  7. June 20, 2009 3:06 pm

    It wouldn’t be so bad if republicans admitted their mistakes, learned from them, and moved forward.
    But I ask too much…

    • June 23, 2009 8:46 pm

      Hey, I got a message on my answering machine, I think it was a wrong number. It was the republicans, they were asking what that a-word means…a…a….ad…what?

Leave a Reply

